Week 3 Reading Response: Corporate Blogging

September 18, 2006 at 6:54 pm 6 comments

I started reading “Bloging Strategy 101: a Primer”, and became frazzled with excitement!  In fact, I immediately sent it to my collogues, who have been considering a bogging tool for both our internal and external websites.  I also sent them another resource found on Scout: “Corporate Guidelines for using Blogs and Forums”.  This weeks readings and this article couldn’t have come at a better time, as it lends itself well to a number of budding initiatives at work.  The article “had me at hello”, when it brought to light the misconception of corporate blogging as synonymous with PR and advertising.  As the article states it can be very useful in assisting with public relations but this can be done without blatant self-promotion.  I recently had a conversation with a few individuals on Friday afternoon about the potential of using a blogging tool to assist in increasing the visibility of our department through our internal and external websites.  Many people wanted to jump on the bandwagon and begin using it as one of our key advertising features.  I expressed my uneasiness but didn’t have much more than my opinion to back me up at that time, however, once I emailed the 2 article from Scout, I received feedback requesting further investigation of these tools in a corporate environment and we’ll be meeting later this week to discuss the blog’s potential in greater detail (hopefully with a new way of thinking about the uses of blogs). Further, the second article noted above “Corporate Guidelines for using Blogs and Forums” and it’s discussion about selecting a blogging policy and guidelines to set the level of interaction between a company blog and its readers was an excellent spring board for us to begin planning our proposal.  As the article states having such guidelines can help avoid bad publicity and diminished credibility, while at the same time keeping your blog on its intended path.  If you have a chance and you work in a corporate environment or are simply interested in them I do recommend this second article, it was quite useful in practice.  It’s kinda neat when both your worlds (school & work) come together so nicely J  I’d love to hear feedback from anyone who has any thoughts, comments, words of warning 😉 etc. about the corporate uses of blogs in general or in relation to an internal or external website.  Also, I’d be interested to hear thoughts about using an internal resources (current staff), versus contracting an experienced external blogger (my instincts persuade me to think an experienced blogger would be key)? And I’m also interested in getting some feedback about blogging policy and guideline constructing if anyone has done these or simply has ideas about them.  I’m going to scan and see if I can find posted blog policies and guidelines that are relevant, if anyone knows a link please do send it J

Entry filed under: LIS 757 Weekly Reading Comments, Uncategorized.

Blogging with the Right Tools Week 3 Reading Response Continued: Ethical Blogging

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tamara  |  September 19, 2006 at 12:23 am

    Ahhh.. Don’t you love it when school actually relates to what you’re doing at work… it’s refreshing…
    Yeah… that’s my earthshattering commentary…

    I wonder if there would be much difference between usage guidelines of a corporate blog versus a blog in an academic or public library? I imagine there will always be a fine line to walk between initiatiing or “running” a blog to promote your department and using the blog as a productivity tool. You want it to help promote the goals of your organization, but you probably want it to draw attention to your goals at the same time…

    Let us know how that goes…

  • 2. Heather Bennett  |  September 19, 2006 at 12:40 pm

    Hi Vicki, the corporate library I worked at was heavy on exploring the potential of blogging for internal communication. They purchased this book: Blogging for Business: Everything You Need to Know and Why You Should Care. You may want to check it out… Oh, and in regards to a comment you left on another site, you need to use html to insert hyperlinks in the comments, so use “” and to close it use “” I hope this shows up since it could be interpreted as code!!!! Wow, I wish I could preview my comment on WordPress like you can on Blogger.

  • 3. Heather Bennett  |  September 19, 2006 at 12:41 pm

    ok, so it didn’t work, I’ll email it to you. Cheers!

  • 4. Susan  |  September 20, 2006 at 7:52 pm

    Perfect timing for you! I nust admit, I’m still having trouble with the whole idea of corporate blogging, but maybe I just haven’t seen enough examples to see how it can be effective. Keep us posted on the progress and what your colleagues have to say!

  • 5. Lauralee  |  September 22, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    You know, I just realized I can’t think of any corporate blogs I’ve come across that I actually liked enough to do more than glance at them. Hmm.

    *does some searching*

    Oh, the CEO of Sun has a blog – with comments, and readers, and it’s both relevant to the company and good. Try this post on fun at Sun, or this one where he has some interesting stuff to say about frank blogging and the question “doesn’t this drive your lawyers nuts?”

  • 6. vsaucier  |  September 22, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    Thanks everyone for your comments. And special thanks to Heather and Lauralee for the links to some really great articles. I’m going to share these at work and hopefully by the end of next week I will have some corporate blogging updates for you guys 🙂

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Vicki's del.icio.us

RSS Dilbert

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Librarians who LibraryThing

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts


