Week 4 Reading Response: RSS

September 24, 2006 at 4:47 pm 6 comments

Before starting the course I took a few minutes to read the Wikipedia article on RSS, and while it was good, after the readings this week I have to ask, where have the RSS tutorials been all my life? 😉  RSS for job post tracking!  This would have been so useful at the beginning of the summer when my Fiancé was looking for work.  I can’t tell you how many websites we needed to remember to go to regularly to see what was new.  I’m glad I know about it now for the future, I love learning new ways to make my life easier J  Speaking of which the weather tracking from the Weather Channel is pretty sweet too!  Since I’m in London and Toronto we need to check the weather for both places every morning, now I can just get notified!  This would have also been quite useful before our vacation this past summer, we were following the weather in Vegas to see what we needed to pack but each time we needed to check it we had to do a new search, next time we’ll just let the RSS feed do all the work 😉

Turning RSS into email, wow yet another brilliant idea!  I’m so sad that I’m just now getting on the RSS bandwagon!  Over the summer I was in charge of compiling and circulating an Information Management Issues publication.  Essentially I needed to scan the news to see what’s happening on the IM front with respect to Data Breaches, New Data Legislation, and Data Security Issues.  I had to sign up to a million email lists, groups, etc.  It would take the better half of a day to get through everything and it overwhelmed my inbox.  I’ve passed this project onto one of our co-op students for this term but I will certainly be talking with them about the benefits of using an RSS feed in general and turning some of these email groups into RSS feeds through Bloglines.  Even better is the “Prospective” web searching RSS ability.  This publication is going to get easier and easier with each new coop student!  The MSN Search with the RSS subscription option will be so handy, in combination with the Google News for this project and using an aggregator to keep it all straight will easily cut the research portion of the publication to a minimum.

Read on and you shall find the answers!  Cohen’s article or tutorial is a gold mine for advice on the best way to get current news for the project I discussed above.  I’m so excited that I’m getting a chance to use what I’m learning so immediately!  I know I said it before but it is just so exciting when your worlds come together J  Cohen’s other article, “RSS for Non-Techie Librarians”, was really good at explaining everything so easily.  I actually linked to it from the first tutorial I went too and saved it to my del.ic.ious account before I realized, it was also one of this weeks readings.

I really enjoyed Robin Good’s article, particularly the section where he “simplifies your task of evaluating and better understanding RSS”.  He summarized the key positive aspects of RSS feeds for email publishing & distribution.  This will help me build a case for its use in the IM Issues publication I’ve been ranting about this whole post.

Entry filed under: LIS 757 Weekly Reading Comments, Uncategorized.

Week 3 Case Study Comments and soooo much more ;) Rojo VS Netvibes: Netvibes All the Way

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  September 24, 2006 at 7:06 pm

    Glad to see your “worlds colliding”, Vicki! I agree – the more you explore the capabilities of RSS, the more exciting the possibilities become. The question that we need to ask is: if RSS is so great (which, it is!) why hasn’t RSS hit the “mainstream” yet? Could it be suffering from really bad PR? Something to think about!

  • 2. hjbennett  |  September 26, 2006 at 2:22 am

    Vicki, Vicki, Vicki! I have to disagree about turning RSS into email (since I dissed it on my own site). Why would you want more email? I would much prefer to turn some email into RSS, our fims email for example! But I totally agree about your job hunt comment, I also mentioned how I’d like to see one comprehensive MLIS jobs in Canada feed (dream on!).

  • 3. Vicki  |  September 26, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    Heather, Heather, Heather! I can’t say I’d necessarily want to turn all of my RSS feeds into email, that would be insanity! However, for the purpose of the work assignment I had (IM Issues publication) it would have been very useful! So many times I would review an article that was not necessarily appropriate but one that I’d like to share. Having it come to my inbox through an RSS feed would have been handy for fwding the article to those it applied too. Further, to me it is alot more comfortable to check my email on a blackberry than go through my bloglines account. So I’ll give you this, refering to RSS turned into email as a “brilliant idea” may have been strong words, perhaps, it would have been more acurate to say it can be quite useful in the right circumstances. 🙂

    Vicki

  • 4. Emma  |  September 26, 2006 at 11:59 pm

    I was always scared of blogging, RSS, and other forms of social software because I hadn’t read anything and didn’t fully understood how to use them. Now that I’ve read and been exposed to material on these tools I totally agree that they are relatively simple to use and have many applications in everyday life.

  • 5. Kathryn  |  October 1, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    Heather and Vicki – I am butting in on this conversation…

    Heather, I read your posts on your site and was going to respond with the utmost agreement about having RSS feeds emailed to me. I am not a fan of cluttering my email account with RSS feeds – in fact, I currently have one RSS feed going into my email account and I’ve developed a particular sigh (of disdain mixed with near-sadness) that is reserved only for opening my email and finding messages galore of RSS feeds. I don’t like it. I don’t read them very committedly (but oh do I sigh).

    Vicki, you have inspired me to adjust my absolute dismissal of RSS-feeds-to-email – and I’m a rather stubborn person! I can see that, for professional reasons especially, it is useful to have articles emailed to my account – especially when it comes to easily hitting “Forward” and sharing the articles with the appropriate people. Ah, look at you, Vicki, broadening my acceptances!

  • 6. hjbennett  |  October 5, 2006 at 1:45 am

    Haha, it’s so great to see this heated discussion… Ok, so I can see Vicki’s point about checking your RSS feeds via email on your blackberry. Sigh, I’ve just never been that employed. Congrats Vicki! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Vicki's del.icio.us

RSS Dilbert

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Librarians who LibraryThing

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts


