Feed2JS vs RSS2HTML

October 11, 2006 at 7:17 pm 3 comments

Feed2JS (aka Feed to JavaScript) “just a cut ‘n paste away” you say?  No knowledge of XML you say?  This was a great site, I loved the “why are you doing this?” section, straight to the point. I liked how the instructions were written in plain English with minimal technical jargon and the step by step explanations were clear.  The RSS2HTML site was a little more serious and scary than Feed2JS.  It gets right to the point, option 1, option 2, alternatives, no explanations, no easing into it.  While the instructions were clear it was a bit overwhelming for someone new to all of this. Even though I’m using wordpress and you can add a feed using the “add a sidebar widget” option, I tried out Feed2JS and it created a JavaScript cut and past for me in seconds!  It was really easy to use but I couldn’t figure out where to paste the script it had generated in my wordpress blog to make it work.  Thanks to Heather who I messaged and called in a panic, I realized with wordpress you have to use their tool.  How does it work for those of you using blogs other than wordpress? 

I choose a feed from KMworld (great site!) that is related to what I hope to do for my final paper.  It worked relatively well but I’ve hit a stump!  The first problem is that KMworld asks that you link to their site as part of your RSS feed and you use their logo.  For the life of me I cannot figure out how to do this on word press.  If you check my link in the sidebar you’ll see the title link “www.kmworld.com” doesn’t work, the article links work just fine though.  The second problem is finding a way to include their logo.  Does anyone know how or is this even possible with wordpress? DIGRESSION à while I’m on the subject of HELP I can’t get wordpress to do what I want!  I thought I’d throw this in and see what everyone has to say: a while ago I said I’d look into adding an about page with a picture.  I went through the steps and filled that section out using the wordpress templates but I can’t figure out how to get it to show up!  Any suggestions as to what I’m missing or doing wrong would be great!!

Entry filed under: Case Study Comments, Uncategorized.

Week 5 Case Study Comments OPML

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amanda  |  October 11, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    Hi Vicki – about your about page (!) as long as you’ve published it in WordPress, it should be ready to go. All you should need now is a link to the page from your sidebar and that’s it. Hope this helps.

  • 2. amanda  |  October 11, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    …and re: the KMWorld feed: I just read their feeds page and it looks like you’re OK with just the text link (it’s an and/or on the link/logo). Now to get that link to work… It should be fine as long as you surround the title with an tag. Let me know if you need more guidance on this & I’d be happy to help.

  • 3. amanda  |  October 11, 2006 at 9:40 pm

    sorry, that should have said “an a href tag”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Vicki's del.icio.us

RSS Dilbert

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Librarians who LibraryThing

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts


