Week 6: The readings, the case studies and the back end of wikis…

October 11, 2006 at 9:40 pm 1 comment

Since I was one of the presenters this week I don’t have much to add in terms of comments about the readings or have any additional comments about wikis just yet!  But I will say that if you don’t get to play with all the links we provided I think the bit on blikis are quite nifty and is worth checking out.  I think they are particularly interesting because our group used both a blog to present and a wiki to collaborate, so why not have one tool?  There are obvious reasons for having a blog and a wiki as separate entities but what do we think about having a new manifestation of them combined?   (I look forward to upcoming conversations about them.)  I also really enjoyed the Wikipedia: TourBusStop, and thought it was a neat way to “explore”.  I also think you will enjoy checking out wikis from the back end by playing around with our group wiki, lis757wikimania.  At first it was a little scary because there’s a little more to it than just copy and paste.  You have to know the “wiki language” a bit to be able to make your links work (my great challenge — thanks for the help Tamara!), however once you found your grove it was as easy as pie! As for the case studies, I’m particularly fond of the Ohio University Libraries Biz Wiki and the this take on library research guides.  I also am interested to follow the Wiki WorldCat (WikiD) Pilot to see where it goes, because as Heather said in her comment to our presentation it is great to read the Amazon & Chapters reviews but you never know when they are coming from a publisher, so it will be interesting to read patron reviews and to see how the WorldCat deals with publisher posts.

Entry filed under: Case Study Comments, LIS 757 Weekly Reading Comments.

OPML Week 7 Reading Response: Social Bookmarking, Tagging, Folksonomies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Colleen  |  October 12, 2006 at 4:30 pm

    At first glance, I just didn’t see the use of the Wiki Tour Bus. But your blog post prompted me to give it another go. You’re right it is a great way to explore, I happened upon wikis I may not have found otherwise- I just wish it came with a map.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Vicki's del.icio.us

RSS Dilbert

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Librarians who LibraryThing

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts


