Week 8 Reading Response

October 25, 2006 at 1:18 pm 2 comments

Having already read the Wikipedia Folsonomy article before this class began, I almost didn’t revisit it.  However, I’m glad that I did because it now makes so much more sense after the discussions on the topic and especially the group presentation (well done!!) on Social Bookmarking, Tagging and Folksonomies.  The external links and the see also section are endless, but all worth checking out at some point.  Some of this weeks readings are listed there. 

Info Tangle’s article, by Ellyssa Kroski, is one of those listed in the Wikipeidia article!  I enjoyed the part where Kroski quotes del.icio.us’s Joshua Schachter who says social bookmarking is, “basically a way to remember in public.”  This is it!  This is exactly why I’m falling in love with these tools! Kroski follow’s Schachter’s quote with “for taggers, it’s not about the right or the wrong way to categorize something and it’s not about the accuracy or authority, it’s about remembering”.  Even as a librarian that’s exactly what it’s about for me J. 

The article itself was a great summary of the variety of tools you find in the social bookmarking realm.  While reading this article I finally took the time to check out the 43Things site and it was quite interesting as the article states, it’s a global to-do list and records all the things you want to do and mean to do and you can see who else has the same goals.  It’s worth checking our for fun if you haven’t already. 

èFolksonomies = Inclusive & Current AND Taxonomies = Exclusionary & Hierarchical àWhile each has it’s purpose, pros and cons, are associated with both Folksonomies and Taxonomies.   Kroski’s article does a great job at highlighting the differences. 

The Folksonomies: power to the people article, was good, a bit dense, but good.  This line stuck in my head: “The point here is that we have gone past a critical mass of connectivity between people that introduced a new revolutionary ability to communicate, collaborate and share goods online.” 

The white-paperish thing article, was pretty interesting, to see the way we were thinking about “sharing goods online” in 2003 and where we are with it now.  It would have been even more interesting to see what they would have done with this idea if they’d had the resources to get it off the ground. 

Unfortunately I couldn’t get to the Corante: Many 2 Many article as I kept getting an error message L.  Hopefully some others were able to and I can read their feedback!

Entry filed under: LIS 757 Weekly Reading Comments.

Week 7 Tools: blinklist, citeulike, & connotea Week 10: Blogging Break you say?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shauna  |  October 29, 2006 at 12:51 am

    After reading about 43Things, I too was intrigued to know more about it. Having visited, I don’t really get the appeal, but to each his own I suppose. Another way of building online community outside of our physical realm…

  • 2. hjbennett  |  November 2, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    I agree that when tagging items myself, I think about how I will remember to find an item. But funny enough, this results in me having difficulties finding items later. Just like when I put my keys somewhere I’ll absolutely remember, I cannot find them! I think my best solution is to tag them with both my own memory triggers, and with the suggested words that del.ici.ous offers. So I suppose I am a fan of multiple tagging strategies!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Vicki's del.icio.us

RSS Dilbert

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Librarians who LibraryThing

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts


