Week 12 Case study & Reply to Week 12 Comments — thx for the chat!!

November 30, 2006 at 1:37 am 3 comments

I’ll start with the case study stuff then go from there 😉

How libraries are using Library Thing  – this was the case study I jumped to first!  I believe I’ve already ranted about the fun I’ve had with this on a personal level (even added the blog widget to my blog J ).  I think it’s fun to see how libraries are making use of it.  I think it’s a great way to advertise new books.  It’s subtle but fun.  The Atlantic Public Library shows the book pic along the left (which links to Amazon) and the hyper-linked title beside it goes to Library Thing showing the rating, other books with similar tags, etc. – all the fun stuff library thing offers.  I think this is exciting because it’s just another way libraries are getting on board with social software where appropriate!! 

Why do I say where appropriate?  I’ve been catching up with my commenting and reading of our classmates blogs and I’ve noticed some questions concerning the appropriateness/usefulness of libraries jumping into my space.  In terms of the whole “meeting the teens where they are” stuff, I think I agree with many of my colleagues, and that is to say libraries may not be able to jump that far from the boat to meet the teens on their turf, it’s kinda like a parent “cleaning” a teens room to be nice, it’s not perceived as nice it’s perceived as annoying and intrusive.  In fact I ran this discussion by my sister to see what she’d think of this whole my space + libraries discussion and she said and I quote “not interested” yet she’s only interested in IM reference.  Oh and that reminds me in response to the IM reference and my sister, I confirmed with her that it was 99.9% quick reference questions – Good question Shauna-Lee.  Anything requiring in-depth research she did herself through the website J As for the close – she said she says thanks for the help lol and good bye when she’s done.  99% of the time she closes not the librarian…interesting!! 

Okay since I’m already doing it I’m also going to address Heather’s comment to my last post regarding the lack of use on the corporate IM system at work à  I too find it hard to believe that they don’t use it.  In fact, it’s driving me so crazy I’m now working on a Lunch and Learn presentation to promote its use, and I’m working with another team member to build a list of guiding principles (no body likes the word rules) and some “best practices” to set the comfort level.  As for the policy that’s a whole ball game of its own but I say lets use it if we have it, even if it’s as Heather said to plan lunch lol 😉

Entry filed under: Case Study Comments, LIS 757 Weekly Reading Comments.

Random post — 28 Days Till Christmas!! – Online Xmas Lists The final post…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AnettDupon  |  March 20, 2007 at 7:03 am

    It’s a real show………… Try to find sexy partner in your area !
    JOIN FREE – After free registration you can have unlimited access to the huge adult source.
    ATTANCION! Adult only!

  • 2. Bill  |  May 12, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    MSN I NIIPET
    MSN

  • 3. Alexwebmaster  |  March 3, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Vicki's del.icio.us

RSS Dilbert

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Librarians who LibraryThing

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts


